Dear Sainsburys (and other Supermarkets) – Mind Your Own F###ing Business!

Dear Sainsburys,
your check out staff have taken to poking their noses into my business. Whenever I shop at one of your stores, they ask me how I am or what my plans are or some other puerile question.

Apparently they’ve been instructed to do so by some stuffed shirt at Head Office who thinks shoppers love being interrogated by complete strangers.

It’s not even as if anyone in your stores actually cares how I am. To them I’m just another in an endless line of faceless punters contributing to their minimum wage existence. Some of them are actually embarrassed about having to ask me inane questions. I have seen them squirm and it ain’t a pretty sight.

So how about it Sainsburys? Could you drop this daft idea – which only makes your customers and staff uncomfortable – and mind your own f###ing business? Or do I have to take my patronage to a rival chain which doesn’t think we’re all Americans now?

And while we’re at it, I’d have thought it obvious that anyone capable of going around a supermarket putting things in a basket would be equally capable of putting said items in a carrier bag.

So no – I don’t need help packing.

Yours sincerely,
Patrick Whittaker

About Patrick Whittaker

I'm a writer and director of the occasional short film. Although a Londoner, I'm based in Blackpool on the north east coast of England.

Posted on December 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

